Chile Rellenos

Chile Rellenos

OK friends, I am sorry for neglecting this blog. I have busy at work starting my new business a girl and her brush, selling my artwork. You can check out my work here. Anyways, I still have a love for cooking and want to keep up this blog as much as possible. The other day I was inspired to make Chile Rellenos after watching Rick Bayless. I absolutely love him. I wish I was his neighbor so that I could get invited to all his amazing parties. I love everything about his show and usually by the end of it, my mouth is watering. So this is my version of his Chile Rellenos.I absolutely love Chile Rellenos. I think it is my favorite Mexican dish. But now I can’t just go to the restaurant and order them. So I have to make them myself. I hope you enjoy this recipe.

1 pork tenderloin

2 Tbsp cumin

1 Tbsp chile powder

salt

pepper

olive oil

juice of one lime

8-10 green chilies fresh

1/2 cup corn meal

1/2 cup brown rice flour

8 oz monteray jack cheese (or queso fresca)

1 28 oz can of fire roasted tomatoes

1-2 eggs

Drizzle pork tenderloin with olive oil and sprinkle with lime juice. Salt and pepper pork loin, then sprinkle chile powder and cumin all over the pork. Place in oven at 400 degrees for 45 minutes or until temp reaches 165 degrees. Remove from oven and let cool. Shred pork with a fork. Place green chilies under broiler and turn until charred on every side. Remove from oven and cool. Cut a slit in the green chile and remove seeds. Stuff inside of chile with a little bit of shredded pork and a thick slice of monteray jack cheese. Warm can of fire roasted tomatoes in a saucepan (add lime juice and seasoning if desired). Heat about a half of a cup of oil in a cast iron skillet over medium high heat. Mix together the cornmeal and rice flour in a bowl. Beat egg in another bowl. Dip stuffed chilies in egg then in flour mixture making sure to coat the green chile evenly. Place into hot oil and cook until golden brown on all sides and cheese is melted. Only put two or three chilies in the pan at the same time. Cook in batches. When finished, top each green chili with fire roasted tomatoes. Serve with beans and rice. Enjoy!

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

