Pineapple Habanero Salsa

Pineapple Habanero Salsa

My inspiration for this salsa came from a local restaurant called “Salsa Brava”. Upon request, they have an amazing pineapple habanero salsa. We order it every time we eat there. I decided that I could make this on my own. I love using fruits in my fresh salsas. The balance of the sweet with heat is perfect. I fire roast the pineapple and tomatoes to give it an extra layer of smokey flavor. We eat this salsa over tacos all the time, or as an appetizer. The picture is of some simple chicken tacos I made to go with the salsa. This really is my favorite salsa!

Pineapple Habanero Salsa

3  half inch slices of fresh pineapple

3 tomatoes

1/4 cup red onion roughly chopped

1 habanero pepper finely chopped and seeds removed

juice of one lime

1/4 cup cilantro

1-2 cloves garlic minced

salt

pepper

Place pineapple and tomatoes on baking sheet. Coat lightly with olive oil, salt and pepper. Place under broiler until the tomatoes and pineapple just start to get black. Remove from oven and let cool. Squeeze juices and seeds out of tomatoes (makes the consistency less watery). Place tomatoes, pineapple, onion, cilantro,habanero,  lime, garlic, salt and pepper into the food processor. Process in pulses until you have the desired consistency. I like to leave it a little on the chunky side, but it really is your preference. Enjoy!

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

