Tandoori Chicken with Homemade Mango Chutney

Tandoori Chicken with Homemade Mango Chutney

I love Tandoori Chicken. I am not an expert in making it but I do know that the real deal is much more complicated to make. This is my simplified version of Tandoori Chicken. If you like curry flavors, you will love this recipe. When you use coconut yogurt from the health food store, it is completely dairy free. And the coconut adds a nice extra layer of flavor. If you don’t have coconut yogurt and you don’t mind dairy, you could use greek yogurt. I also love Mango Chutney. I was somewhat disappointed when I was about to buy a jar a few weeks ago. I was shocked to see that the second ingredient was high fructose corn syrup.  It went right back on the shelf. I knew I could do better and make it myself. I think that it turned out great. Next time, I am going to make extra to store in the fridge. It is also delicious on sandwiches!

Tandoori Chicken

8 boneless, skinless, chicken thighs or 4 boneless, skinless, chicken breasts

1 cup coconut yogurt or greek yogurt

1 Tbsp curry powder

1 Tbsp cumin

juice of one lemon

1 tsp minced ginger

2 cloves garlic

salt

pepper

cilantro

Mix together all ingredients, except for chicken. Coat chicken with yogurt mixture and refrigerate for one hour. Bake chicken in 350 degree oven for thirty minutes. Serve with mango chutney and garnish with cilantro.

Mango Chutney

1 mango peeled and chopped

1 hand full of raisins (1/4 cup)

1/4 cup agave or honey

1 tsp ground ginger

1 tsp curry powder

1/4 cup orange juice

4-5 Tbsp balsamic vinegar or apple cider vinegar

Place all ingredients in a saucepan and simmer over medium low heat until sauce thickens. Serve over Tandoori Chicken.

2 Responses

  1. Ooh, looks excellent. Are those roast sweet potatoes? I used to make a “tandoori” chicken recipe that used a side of green apple slaw (grated apple with yogurt, cilantro, salt & pepper) – not sure I’d want to try it with soy yogurt, but I think you’re onto something with coconut yogurt. I may cheat & use frozen mango chunks for the chutney…

    • Thanks Stephanie! Yes I made some roast sweet potatoes seasoned with a little curry powder. The green apple slaw sounds like it would be amazing with this recipe. Maybe I will try that next time. The coconut flavor goes well with curry flavors. Go right ahead and make it with mango chunks. If I had some in the freezer, I so would have used some. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

