Pizzelle Cookies

Pizzelle Cookies

I am so not a baker! I prefer cooking over baking any day. When you mess up in cooking, it is usually easily fixed. Not so with baking. That being said… I feel extremely proud when I come up with a baking recipe. Here is a gluten free Pizzelle cookie recipe. I wish I could say the recipe is dairy free and sugar free but it is not. I figure a little indulgence this time of year is ok. I think you might be able to modify the recipe and make it with splenda if you really want sugar free. My husband is extremely happy that I came up with this recipe. Pizzelles are his favorite holiday cookie. He officially thinks I am a genius for coming up with this cookie. In his opinion, you can’t tell the difference between these and the real deal. And in the world of gluten free, that is a big compliment.

3/4 cup tapioca flour
1/2 cup white rice flour
1/2 cup brown rice flour
1/2 cup butter (1 stick)
3/4 cup sugar
4 eggs
1 tsp anise flavoring
2 tsp baking powder

Beat eggs. Add in the rest of the ingredients. Mix with hand beater until all ingredients are incorporated. Pour into hot Pizzelle iron. I used a little under 1/4 cup of batter for each cookie. Remove after cookies turn a golden brown. Remove excess cookie from the edges and cool on a wire rack. Cookies should become crispy after cooling.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

