Potato Dill Bread

P1011187

Potato Dill Bread

During my pre-glutenfree days, I loved all things gluten. I made my own bread two to three times a week. There is nothing like the smell of freshly baked bread wafting through your house. Mmmmmmm… so warm and cozy during those long winter months. I especially loved to make a big pot of soup to go with my fresh baked bread. You just have to use some bread to sop up all that soup. One of my favorite soup dipping breads was a Potato Dill Bread. When I went gluten free, I had pretty much given up the thought of eating this bread again. It wasn’t until recently that I thought about looking for a gluten free version. Unfortunately, I couldn’t find anything online. So I decided to come up with my own. I am really excited about how this recipe turned out. I can’t wait to finally have a bread worthy of soup dipping. This bread is especially good with my recipe for Chunky Crab Corn Chowder.

1 1/4 cup white rice flour
1 1/4 cup brown rice flour
1/2 cup potato starch
1/2 cup mashed potato
2 Tbsp yeast
3 tsp xanthan gum
1 Tbsp sugar
2 Tbsp dill
3 eggs
1 1/2 cup water from boiling potatoes
1 1/2 tsp salt
1/4 cup greek yogurt
2 Tbsp olive oil

Peel and chop one medium size potato. Place in a pot of boiling water and cook until soft. Reserve 1 1/2 cup of the potato water. Remove potato and mash with a fork. Wait ten to fifteen minutes for reserved water to cool. Add one Tbsp of sugar to potato water and disolve. Add 2 Tbsp yeast and allow to proof for around ten minutes.

Mix together brown rice flour, white rice flour, potato starch, xanthan gum, salt, dill and mashed potato.

Beat eggs with mixer for around two minutes. Add yogurt, and olive oil to eggs.

Slowly add the egg mixture and the yeast mixture into the dry ingredients. Mix well until all of the flour is incorporated. Pour dough into well greased bread pan. Cover with a kitchen towel and let rise for about an hour. Cook in a 375 degree oven for forty to fifty minutes or until done. Let cool for ten minutes and remove from bread pan. Cool on wire rack.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

