Roast Chicken with Sausage and Grapes

P1011160

Roast Chicken with Sausage and Grapes

Ok, so I know the idea of grapes and sausages sounds bizarre… but it is REALLY yummy. Even the Critic had to admit that he was pleasantly surprised by this recipe. I saw this recipe on the Rachel Ray Show this week and thought I just have to share, it was that good! Of course, I hardly ever follow recipes exactly. I just use recipes as inspiration then make them my own. The reason I like Rachel Ray’s cooking style is because she doesn’t measure anything. I am the same way… I just do what feels right and tastes good. So if you are making one of my recipes, and you think it needs more spice or vinegar… by all means, add it. Cook to your own taste, because that is how my recipes are meant to be followed. I don’t think you can really mess this recipe up, even if you don’t follow it exactly. It is easy to prepare, and delicious comfort food! It is one of those throw in the oven and forget about it until your house starts smelling divine dishes.

6 chicken thighs bone in
3 sweet italian sausages
1 cup black seedless grapes
2-3 shallots quartered
3 Tbsp chopped fresh rosemary
2 Tbsp chopped fresh sage
2 cups cubed red potatoes
few Tbsp olive oil
1/4 cup balsamic vinegar

Place potatoes, sausages, shallots and grapes in casserole dish. Sprinkle with fresh herbs. Drizzle with olive oil and balsamic vinegar. Salt and pepper. Place chicken thighs over sausage and grapes. Salt and pepper chicken thighs. (I also sprinkled some dried thyme over the chicken.) Roast in a 425 degree oven for around an hour or until veggies are soft and chicken juices run clear. Grapes are really delicious roasted! Never expected that. I think I am going to try them in other dishes. Rach also left the balsamic vinegar out and added balsamic drizzle before serving. I was feeling lazy so I made it this way.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

