Poached Eggs with Prosciutto and Goat Cheese

P1011053

Poached Eggs with Prosciutto and Goat Cheese

I love the elegant simplicity of eggs benedict. It used to be one of my favorite dishes to order when going out fot breakfast. Not really anything I can order now. This recipe is not an attempt at eggs benedict, but it is just as delightful. Fortunately, I live in a city where we have an awesome gluten free bakery called Out of the Breadbox. They make a Montina bread I use for my morning toast. My husband tells me this bread actually tastes like real bread, which is a huge compliment for gluten free bread. Weekdays, I top my Montina toast with a fried egg. This recipe is more appropriate for Sunday brunch. Use your favorite gluten free toast or english muffin.

Two pieces of gluten free toast
3 pieces prosciutto
2 Tbsp goat cheese
2 eggs
dash of cayenne pepper
squirt of lemon
avocado slices or asparagus spears for garnish

Bring water to boil in large saucepan. Brown prosciutto in pan until crisp. Toast bread in toaster. Spread goat cheese on toast. Top with bacon. Crack eggs into a bowl. Drop eggs one at a time into gently boiling water. Cook eggs for approximately three minutes until egg whites are set and egg yolks are still runny. Remove with a slotted spoon and place on top of bacon and toast. Garnish with avocado or cooked asparagus. Sprinkle with lemon juice and cayenne pepper. Enjoy slowly with a feeling of sophistication!

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

