Thai Red Curry Chicken

P1010758

Thai Red Curry Chicken

Lately I have been all about Thai flavors… coconut milk, peanut butter, red curry and cilantro. The sweet, salty and spicy flavors all married together. It is like a flavor explosion in your mouth. This is what you should make when you are craving take-out but still want to be nice to your insides.

Thai Red Curry Chicken

2 lbs chicken thighs

1 onion

2 cloves garlic

2 carrots shredded

1 red bell pepper chopped

1-2 cups chopped mushrooms (baby bella)

1 can coconut milk

3 Tbsp peanut butter

3 Tbsp red curry paste

cilantro

salt

pepper

basmati rice

Start rice according to package instructions. While rice is cooking, salt and pepper chicken and brown in a big skillet. You might need to do this in batches to ensure getting a good color on the chicken. Remove chicken from pan after it browned all the way. Add onion and garlic to the same pan and saute until soft. Add veggies and saute until soft as well. Pour coconut milk into pan and stir in curry paste and peanut butter. Put chicken back into pan and simmer over low heat for 5-10 minutes (making sure that chicken is cooked all the way through). Salt and pepper to taste. Serve chicken over rice and garnish with cilantro.

5 Responses

  1. Wendy, I am soooo impressed!!!! In the winter time especially, I really watch the gluten and dairy (and sugar) intake as I want to keep everyone’s immune systems strong. I had no idea you were into cooking this way. I love it!!!! I am always looking for good recipes and you have given me more ideas. Thanks, friend!

    Okay…so you are painting…cooking…blogging…and you have 2 young children…I am so impressed, Wendy!!!! Embrace your gifts and run with it…while caring for your family!!!!

    Carmen

    • Thanks so much Carmen! I so appreciate it. The truth is that the kitchen is my sanctuary. So whenever things are crazy, that is where I go to escape. It is kind of like breathing to me, it just comes natural. I just started cooking this way recently with all of the stressful things that have happened in my life. I started having all sorts of health problems because of it. I didn’t really have much of a choice. But I have found that many of my problems have gone away eating this way! And my children thrive on it as well. So really it is more of a necessity for me right now. (If I have one bit of gluten I am up all night long). All of my recipes don’t have sugar in them either. I pretty much don’t do wheat, dairy, sugar or caffeine. (I do occasionally have dairy.) I read a book called The Ultramind Solution and it pretty much changed my life and how I feed my family. We don’t really miss any of these things either! Thank-you so much for your encouragement! It does feel good to be using my gifts and to be blessing other people!

  2. so i didn’t have any red curry, mushrooms or cilantro, so my review might not really count. 🙂 but i really wanted to try this recipe! i substituted curry powder for the paste, but i should have used more. it was really creamy and tasty, but i would have loved a little more spice and heat that i think the red curry paste you included would have added. overall- it was great. i served it over brown rice and it made for a hearty, warm winter dinner. thanks wendy!

    • I am so glad you got to try this recipe! You should for sure try it with the red curry, it is a completely different flavor than traditional curry. Also, I probably wouldn’t have added the peanut butter if using yellow curry. Not sure that it would really go together. So glad that you enjoyed it.

  3. Love it! The Curry Paste made it amazing! Our new favorite!

Leave a Reply

