Chicken Mole Chili

Chicken Mole Chili

Mole is a Mexican specialty that combines chilies with chocolate. I have a confession to make… I have actually never actually had authentic mole. I wish that I had because then maybe this dish would be more authentic. When I was in high school, we took a trip to the local Mexican restaurant for our Spanish class for extra credit. I  remember our Spanish teacher highly recommending that we order the mole. Back then I remember thinking it was too far out of my comfort zone. Chocolate and chilies… who would dare put that combination together? It was such a bizarre combination for my head to wrap itself around. Now, I wish I had tried it. Maybe my introduction to mole would have been more authentic and special. Well, through the years I have discovered that certain food combinations that seem bizarre are usually the best. And so I have begun my own experiment with chocolate and chilies. I have discovered that there are amazing complexities in joining these flavors together. The symphony is amazing. The next time I have the opportunity, I am so ordering some mole (that is if it gluten free). So if you are like I was in high school, I would challenge you. Try something that you would never even imagine would be good together. Chocolate and chilies. I guarantee you that if you make this for company… they will be completely amazed! Just don’t tell them the secret ingredient is chocolate.

olive oil

1/2 red onion chopped

3 Tbsp tapioca flour

2 garlic cloves

3 oz unsweetened chocolate

3 Tbsp honey

3 ristra dried chilies (found in the Mexican specialty section of the grocery store)

5-6 fresh green chilies (anaheim)

2 14 oz cans of fire roasted tomatoes

2 handfuls of raisins

2 Tbsp cumin

2 large cooked chicken breasts shredded

2-3 cups brown rice cooked

1/4 cup cilantro chopped

1 avocado

2 limes

6 corn tortillas cut into strips

2-3 cups water

dash of cinnamon

salt

pepper

Roast green chilies under a broiler until blackened all over. Let cool, remove skin and seeds and chop. Place dried chilies in pot of boiling water. Boil for around twenty minutes or until they have softened. Place chocolate and reconstituted chilies into a food processor. The hot chilies will melt the chocolate. Add a few tablespoons of water just to get things moving. Process until mixture becomes a fine paste. Set aside. Saute onion in olive oil in a big soup pot until soft. Add flour, garlic and stir. Pour chocolate chili mixture into the pot. Add green chilies, tomatoes, water, cumin, cinnamon and honey. Simmer over low heat for twenty minutes to an hour. Add shredded chicken, lime and raisins. Cook long enough to plump raisins. Serve with a scoop of brown rice, tortilla strips, cilantro and avocado. (Make your own tortilla strips by cutting corn tortillas into long strips, drizzling with olive oil and baking in the oven until crispy.)

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a comment